h1

Getting Old?

05/01/2011

This is a random grumble, I know… but sometimes, I wonder whether my body is genuinely starting to grow up – and it’s all because of food.

When I was a kid, I could eat anything – chocolate, cake, crisps – and feel full. Now? If I’m ever feeling a bit rough, and not in the mood to cook, I HAVE to find something “proper” to eat! If I don’t eat actual food, even if it’s just a slice of bread, and instead choose to snack on naughty things like I have once or twice when me and my boyfriend are a bit too busy (or lazy) to cook, then I begin feeling really off inside. It’s like being able to feel yourself feeding on food that’s not good for you, when you’re body demands sustainance. Or even warm meals! Most of my student life I could manage on cereal if I was working, but now if I don’t have a hot dinner once a day I feel like I’m starving myself!

Is this a sign of getting older? Is it something everyone goes through? Or have I finally reached that glorious point in a “healthier” lifestyle when bad food feels as bad to eat as it should?

…and, the biggest question of all? Should I REALLY be complaining! I want to eat better, it bothers me when I don’t… shut up and go with it!

Kirsty Watkinson

Leave a comment